Our proposed mixed use redevelopment of 111 Cannon Street for London & Oriental exploits the unique nature of the site with frontages on three historic City streets. Formerly the site of St Swithin’s Church 111 Cannon Street is also the resting place of London Stone since 1798 when it was built into the south wall of the Church. It survived the bomb damage which destroyed the Church and was subsequently incorporated into the south wall of the existing 1962 construction.
Our design to replace the existing building incorporates carefully proportioned facades that respond to the historic setting with subtle detailing relating to individual streetscapes. The office accommodation for small and medium sized City enterprises provides energy efficient column free day lit space which can be occupied at a high density. Much sought after retail with Cannon Street frontage is located at the ground lower ground floors.
During the demolition and subsequent redevelopment of the site, London Stone will be housed at the Museum of London, where it will remain on public display until it is once more returned and housed in a position of pride more in keeping with its former history.
Tim Fyles, Partner at Fletcher Priest Architects said:
“The challenge for us when considering London Stone is its mysterious origin and the myths that surround its importance. As part of the planning process we consulted a number of interested parties, the Worshipful Company of Spectacle Makers for example whose charter is intrinsically linked to London Stone. We also researched its history and working with MOLA established the method for it removal and temporary relocation to the Museum of London.
In architectural terms we want to create an improved setting for London Stone based on historical precedent. Ultimately though the challenge is to retain the mystery of London Stone while improving its presentation”.