Shortlists announced for 2011 Architect of the Year Awards

Small practices take on architectural giants in the running for this year’s awards, which celebrate bodies of work across 13 categories.

This year – the eighth in which they have been running – the awards drew a record 168 entries.

The judging will be conducted in October by a jury of architects, clients and built environment experts. They include Waheed Nazir, director of regeneration at Birmingham Council; Liz Peace, Chief Executive of the British Property Federation and Bridget Sawyers, Chief Executive of the Architecture Centre Network.

The Young Architect of the Year award will be assessed separately by a jury comprising architects Peter St John and John McAslan, the Victoria and Albert Museum’s Moira Gemmill and Julian Barwick of Development Securities.

The winners will be announced on November 15th at an award ceremony held at the Brewery in the City of London. Full details are available at

Office Architect of the Year

Squire and Partners

Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Kohn Pedersen Fox

Fletcher Priest Architects